Optimus Primavera Sound 2012: stage info

Although there’s no info about which bands will play in which stage on the official website for now, that information is already available for those who downloaded the official Android/iPhone app. For those old-fashioned folks who still sport a Nokia 3310, here’s the distribution of the artists per stage per day:

Thursday, June 7:

Optimus stage

Yann Tiersen



The Rapture

Primavera stage

The Drums

Atlas Sound


Explosions in the Sky

Friday, June 8:

Optimus stage



We Trust

Rufus Wainwright

Primavera stage

The Walkmen

Yo La Tengo

The Flaming Lips

Linda Martini

ATP stage

Shellac (pictured above)

Rafael Toral

Wolves in the Throne Room

Tall Firs



Thee Oh Sees

Club stage

Numbers Showcase

The War on Drugs


Other Lives


Beach House

Neon Indian

Black Lips

Saturday, June 9:

Optimus stage

Kings of Convenience (replacing Björk)

The Right Ons

The xx

Death Cab for Cutie

Primavera stage

The Afghan Whigs

The Weeknd

Gala Drop


ATP stage

Forest Swords

Dirty Three

Lee Ranaldo

I Break Horses

Sleepy Sun


Demdike Stare

Club stage

Erol Alkan

James Ferraro and the Bodyguard

Washed Out


Baxter Dury

John Talabot

Saint Etienne

Veronica Falls


Sunday, June 10 (outside main festival site):

Casa da Música

Jeff Mangum

The Olivia Tremor Control

Nick Garrie

James Ferraro and the Bodyguard

Best Youth

Hard Club

You Can’t Win, Charlie Brown

Veronica Falls

Julie and the Carjackers


Optimus Primavera Sound 2012 takes place in Porto, Portugal and runs from 7 to 10 June. Buy tickets here.



San Miguel Primavera Sound 2012

New incorporations in the lineup include Refused, Sharon Van Etten, The Wedding Present and Beirut. Full lineup here (around 10% of the complete linup TBA). Also announced was the site of the first and last days of the festival, Arc de Triomf, which will hold free concerts. San Miguel Primavera Sound 2012 runs from May 30th to June 3rd in Barcelona, Spain. More info about the Portuguese edition, Optimus Primavera Sound coming in the next two weeks.


Codeine reforms, plays Primavera Sound 2012

The best European festival is back in style: after announcing a second installation in Porto, Portugal in 2012, Primavera Sound has just announced the first acts who will play in both editions. Among them is Codeine, one of the quintessential American indie rock bands of the beginning of the 90s who are reforming – original lineup! – to play a series of selected shows in Europe next Spring and reissuing their back catalog. Guided by Voices (Barcelona only), Jeff Mangum, Yo La Tengo, Björk, Other Lives and Neon Indian are the other bands who’ll play Primavera next year. That’s quite an impressive early lineup, isn’t it?


Optimus Primavera Sound • Porto • 7-10 June 2012

7-10 June 2012 – Parque da Cidade, Porto, Portugal

First 1000 tickets on sale at 5pm GMT (less than two hours from now) for a reduced price of €65.

+ info: Optimus Primavera Sound