Bolachas Now Playing

#206: Matana Roberts, “Coin Coin Chapter Four: Memphis”

The fourth volume of Matana Roberts’ “Coin Coin” series on Constellation Records, “Memphis”, is our album of the week. It finds the American composer and saxophonist developing her ethnographic work through spoken word traditionals and blues, punctuated by free jazz bursts that make it an essential listen. Plus: new tracks by Dead Combo, Jaimie Breezy Branch, Yazz Ahmed, Vive la Void, Warmduscher, Comet Gain, Wolf Parade, Peggy Sue, Allah-Las, Jennah Barry, Julien Baker, The National’s Matt Berninger & Phoebe Bridgers, Gus Seyffert, Cass McCombs, John Moreland, Christopher Paul Stelling, Richard Dawson, Lankum, Daniel Martin Moore, and Andre Ethier.

Bolachas Now Playing, 36/2019 (#206): 

Dead Combo – Sul Main Theme
Matana Roberts – Her Mighty Waters Run
Matana Roberts – Fit To Be Tied
Jaimie Branch – Love Song
Yazz Ahmed – Ruby Bridges
Vive la Void – Rock River
Warmduscher – Disco Peanuts
Comet Gain – We’re All Fucking Morons
Wolf Parade – Against the Day
Peggy Sue – Motorcade
Allah-Las – Keeping Dry
Jennah Barry – The Real Moon
Julien Baker – Tokyo
Matt Berninger, Phoebe Bridgers – Walking on a String
Gus Seyffert – Hold On
Cass McCombs – Confidence Man
John Moreland – East October
Christopher Paul Stelling – Trouble Don’t Follow Me
Richard Dawson – Heart Emoji
Lankum – The Young People
Daniel Martin Moore – Loud & Clear
Andre Ethier – Foolish Love