Bolachas Now Playing

#204: Wilco, “Ode to Joy”

Wilco’s eleventh full length is probably their most inspired since insert the name of your favorite Wilco record here. After two less remarkable albums and a small hiatus, they’re back with an album that may sound quieter because we’re really supposed to focus on Jeff Tweedy’s superior songwriting and Glenn Kotche’s exquisite drumming style, the stars of this show. It’s a pleasure to be living in the same timeline as Wilco.

Plus: new tracks by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Angel Olsen, Johanna Warren, Lightning Dust, Big Thief, Kacy & Clayton, Marinho, Carla dal Forno, Kelsey Waldon, Colter Wall, The Avett Brothers, Craig Finn, Mikal Cronin, The Growlers, Altın Gün, Chromatics, Land of kush, The Messthetics, and Penguin Cafe.

Bolachas Now Playing, 34/2019 (#204):

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Spinning Song
Angel Olsen – Chance
Johanna Warren – Witchsickness
Lightning Dust – A Pretty Picture (feat. Stephen Malkmus)
Big Thief – Forgotten Eyes
Wilco – We Were Lucky
Wilco – Hold Me Anyway
Kacy & Clayton – Intervention
Marinho – I Give Up and It’s Ok
Carla dal Forno – Leaving For Japan
Kelsey Waldon – Very Old Barton
Colter Wall – Bob Fudge
The Avett Brothers – Tell The Truth
Craig Finn – It’s Never Been A Fair Fight
Mikal Cronin – I’ve Got Reason
The Growlers – Pulp of Youth
Altin Gün – Gelin Halayı
Chromatics – On the Wall
Land Of Kush – Domyat 1331
The Messthetics – Pacifica
Penguin Cafe – Gentoo Origin