Bolachas Now Playing

#190: Cate Le Bon, “Reward”

Time for the yearly meeting of the Cate Le Bon Appreciation Society, on the occasion of the release date of the Welsh songwriter’s fifth album, “Reward”. The goddaughter of the 90s Welsh indie pop of Gruff Rhys et al has long outgrown her own scene, and her exquisite avant-pop reached a level of uniqueness that makes it impossible to lump her together with anyone at all. It’s yet another magnificent record from Le Bon and we’re thrilled to live in the same era as she’s making music.

In this week’s playlist: new tracks by Alex Lahey, Lydia Ainsworth, Carly Rae Jepsen, SAMIA, Stef Chura, Los Retros, Faye Webster, Okey Dokey, Night Beats, Amyl and The Sniffers, Institute, Black Mountain, Earth, Bill Callahan (smog), Mavis Staples, Dylan LeBlanc, Frankie Lee, Justin Townes Earle, TK & The Holy Know-Nothings, Jake Xerxes Fussell, Doug Tuttle, and Los Coast.

Bolachas Now Playing, 20/2019 (#190):

Cate le Bon – Meet the Man
Cate le Bon – Magnificent Gestures
Alex Lahey – Black RMs
Lydia Ainsworth – Can You Find Her Place
Carly Rae Jepsen – The Sound
Samia – Ode to Artifice
Stef Chura – Sweet Sweet Midnight
Los Retros – Friends
Faye Webster – Hurts Me Too
Okey Dokey – Thick and Thin (feat. Dent May)
Night Beats – Shot Down
Amyl and The Sniffers – Starfire 500
Institute – Indoctrination Set
Black Mountain – FD’72
Earth – A Wretched Country of Dusk
Bill Callahan – Black Dog on the Beach
Mavis Staples – Heavy On My Mind
Dylan LeBlanc – Honor Among Thieves
Frankie Lee – Downtown Lights
Justin Townes Earle – Talking To Myself
TK & The Holy Know-Nothings – Good Stuff
Jake Xerxes Fussell – Oh Captain
Doug Tuttle – Fade
Los Coast – Simplify